SBI’s 2010 MLS Awards to be announced this week


With the 2010 MLS regular season complete, it is time for us to announce or choices for the season-ending awards.

SBI will be selecting its MLS Best XI, as well as picks for MLS MVP, Newcomer of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Coach of the Year, Defender of the Year and Goalkeeper of the Year.

SBI writers Avi Creditor, Adam Serrano, Travis Clark, Jose Romero, Michael Nastri and I have cast our votes and we will be unveiling our choices throughout the week. Our Goalkeeper and Rookie of the Year picks will be unveiled this afternoon.

Stay tuned for more.

This entry was posted in Major League Soccer, SBI MLS Awards. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to SBI’s 2010 MLS Awards to be announced this week

  1. John says:

    If Ream doesn’t win rookie of the year then these awards are a joke. Kyle Martino and others are voting for Mwanga. He scored 6 goals on a losing team while Ream played every minute on a potential championship team and scoring a goal along the way as well.

  2. elseth7 says:

    ream could easily win defender of the year as well. he’s been solid even if you look at him as a veteran.

  3. Marcus says:

    Maybe everyone is trying to shower him with rewards to persuade him to play for the US in the future?

  4. Myles B says:

    Frei for goalkeeper of the year!

    But of course he’ll be overlooked and the award will be given to someone like Donovan “who ate all the pies?” Ricketts.

  5. andy says:

    Omar for defender of the year

  6. Donovan ricketts has been the goalkeeper of the year for the past two years. The only other person that i would consider on the same lever is nick rimando. Stefan Frei is should not even be in the same sentence as those two.

  7. Taft says:

    The fact that two RSL guys are nominated essentially guarantees that one of them will win it. RSL this year has the best defense the league has ever seen. They only allowed 23 goals all year, and that should be recognized in Defender of the Year at least, if not with Goalkeeper of the Year as well.

  8. drogbaisontheground says:

    Actually he scored 7, but I still agree with you that Ream should win.

  9. Brennan says:

    It was actually 20, but who’s counting?

  10. Taft says:

    My bad. I had the previous Houston record on my mind. Thanks for the correction.