Dempsey named 2012 U.S. Soccer Male Athlete of the Year

Photo by

For the third time in his career, Clint Dempsey has been named the U.S. Soccer Male Athlete of the Year.

Dempsey was voted the winner of the 2012 award on Monday for his six-goal year that included the lone tally in the U.S. Men’s National Team’s first victory over Italy in February. Dempsey, who also enjoyed success at the club level before transferring from Fulham to Tottenham in August, scored five more times in World Cup qualifying to lead the Americans with six goals in 2012. He previously won this award in 2007 and 2011.

U.S. Under-17 Men’s National Team midfielder Rubio Rubin also was awarded on Monday, as he was named the Young Male Athlete of the Year. Rubin was among the team’s leading goal-scorers with eight.

Here is a video highlighting Dempsey’s strong year in a U.S. jersey:


What do you think of Dempsey and Rubin winning these awards? Agree that he should have won? Which Dempsey moment from 2012 most sticks out in your mind?

Share your thoughts below.

This entry was posted in Americans Abroad, Featured, U.S. Men's National Team. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Dempsey named 2012 U.S. Soccer Male Athlete of the Year

  1. MLSsnob says:

    Deuce face FTW!

  2. TheFrenchOne says:

    I believe the Chinese Calendar calls this the Year of the Deuce Face

  3. Big Chil says:


  4. Don Dallas says:

    Baby, if you’re feeling good
    And baby if you’re feeling nice
    You know your man is workin’ hard
    He’s worth a deuce

  5. Ryan nanez says:

    It should of been if been Freddy adu!! Lol sorry I wanted to be that guy

  6. TomG says:

    I think it’s about time we decided how we are going to deride our future superstars/busts/neither of the above. Junior Flores and Rubio Rubin. Which will be lazy/ need to improve attitude/ be advanced only by nepotism or favoritism??

  7. Colin Ross says:

    I hate to be that guy but Michael Bradley/Tim Howard were much more valuable to the team this year.

  8. Nato says:

    Dempsey followed by Bradley/ Howard

  9. Nato says:

    Donovan deserfved it in 07 and 2010 but Dempsey deserved it in 09 and 11 and this year

  10. YO says:

    Call me crazy, but I just don’t agree, perhaps a little attitude adjustmet and some Bradley heart may change my mind.