32 responses

  1. Hopper
    February 11, 2014

    LOLZ!

    Bellissimo!

  2. Travis
    February 11, 2014

    Was wondering when this would get posted, why did he get a red anyway? Is headbutting a bench violent conduct?

    • The Imperative Voice
      February 11, 2014

      Literally, you may have a point. I struggle to find the ground under Law 12. But in practice the rule of thumb is if it’s playing soccer and only semi-obnoxious, it’s a yellow. If it’s beyond soccer and obnoxious, it’s a red. Under this heuristic, a hard but sincere slide tackle is a yellow, a punch is a red. I think you could do what you want with this insanity, but a red fits the practical definition because it’s a non-soccer destructive display. He surely did not expect to break the glass but he meant to do what he did and should accept the consequences.

      • midwest ref
        February 11, 2014

        red card offenses are those against an opponent or other player – I don’t see why this was anything other than a yellow

      • go euro or go home
        February 11, 2014

        couldn’t he be given a red for purposefully leaving the field of play?

      • midwest ref
        February 11, 2014

        nope – that is a yellow for unsporting behavior

      • Waterlewd
        February 11, 2014

        According to the rules, it can’t be a red for unsporting play. But it is entertaining and feels like a fair end. As a player, you can’t go around purposely destroying the stadium. Maybe the ref considered it serious unsporting play but there’s not a stipulation for that in the rules.

      • CeezNYRB
        February 11, 2014

        Please. Let’s stop making up stuff and miseducating the soccer fan. “Semi-obnoxious”, “obnoxious”, “non-soccer destructive display”…what are you even talking about???

        I’m a referee and therefore I’ve had to go to numerous clinics, seminars, courses, etc. for both outdoor soccer and futsal. I have NEVER heard ANY aspect of ANY scenario in either version of the sport being qualified as obnoxious, semi-obnoxious, non-soccer destructive display, or any other falsity you’re promulgating. It’s nonsense.

        This scenario is really simple. AT MOST, assuming the celebrant had not previously been cautioned in the match, the celebration is ripe for a yellow caution card for Unsporting Behavior (plus whatever code the league uses to report the UB), and that’s that. The only way I can see the red rationalized is if the celebrant was already previously cautioned for a different misconduct, was then issued a yellow caution for Unsporting Behavior (outside of the view of the camera), and subsequently issued a red send-off card for receiving a second yellow caution card.

        If the referee issued a straight red, then that is a misapplication of the Law by what looks like an amateur ref in an amateur league.

        My point with all of this? Let’s not make stuff up. Defer to someone else if you don’t really know the answer but the worst disservice to the American soccer fan is false information being proclaimed as truth.

      • Snozberry
        February 11, 2014

        +1

      • jmadsen
        February 12, 2014

        You might consider it a rather loose interpretation, but perhaps:

        (n) is guilty of violent conduct;

        I don’t believe that has to be limited to violence against another person.

        In any case, thank you for your message, which not only applies to Americans but fans everywhere – very few people who watch the game really understand the actual rules (that’s actually true in most sports, IMHO)

    • James
      February 11, 2014

      We’re also talking about what looks like an amateur league with amateur refs. Rules are much more interpreted at that level

    • Sheriff Bart
      February 11, 2014

      If the ref wanted to be technical he could have given him a yellow for leaving the field of play and then another with subsequent red for unsporting behavior when he went through the panel on the bench. Either way is was a pitiful celebration. I’m sure the coach was less than thrilled.

      • CeezNYRB
        February 11, 2014

        According to Law 18, he didn’t “leave the field of play”. No yellow there. The referee simply misapplied Law 12.

  3. slyboy
    February 11, 2014

    Should give a red to the keeper for that awful spill!

    • leftcoastmetro
      February 11, 2014

      This is “Seconda Categoria”, i.e. the 9th tier of soccer in Italy, so he probably should be given a medal for just getting in front of the shot.

  4. bata
    February 11, 2014

    Is that glass or some kind of plastic wrap?

    • Joamiq
      February 11, 2014

      Looks like plastic to me

  5. Brett
    February 11, 2014

    I hate it when players celebrate ugly goals like they did something amazing, especially if its not a particularly important goal/game.

    • iggy
      February 11, 2014

      what makes you think that wasnt an important game :)

    • Wood chip zip
      February 11, 2014

      +1, but I think this was the Special Olympics.

  6. Ryan
    February 11, 2014

    That was amazing! Greatest goal celebration ever.

  7. you both have points
    February 11, 2014

    Italians are a strange people. am I right?

  8. you both have points
    February 11, 2014

    btw what’s the greatest goal scoring celebration in your opinion?

    • TomM
      February 11, 2014
    • KingGoogleyEye
      February 11, 2014

      Not the “greatest,” but I really like Levesque’s: link to youtube.com

    • CamRahn Bay
      February 11, 2014

      I really like this one:

      link to youtube.com

      • Michael Stypulkoski
        February 11, 2014

        This is the correct answer.

  9. Wood chip zip
    February 11, 2014

    In the Swansea v Cardiff match did anyone notice when Dyer sent a shot over the crossbar and into the stands, a fan headed it away. Now that was funny. Around the 75th minute. I was hoping to see it on ESPNs top 10

  10. JayAre
    February 11, 2014

    Lol

  11. Brain Guy
    February 11, 2014

    On a sort-of related note, a YouTube video that I saw over at SI.com (which got it from Guyism) showed a player who smacked an opponent with the back of his hand and then, while the player lay on the ground, proceeded to kick him. But the best part is that before the kick, the referee, who saw the backhand slap to the head, only showed a yellow card. Must be a pretty tough league. Sorry but I could not find the link.

  12. michael f. sbi mafia original
    February 11, 2014

    How do you say dumb ass in Italian?

    • no
      February 11, 2014

      perhaps, “sbi mafia original”?

Back to top
mobile desktop